England wins the ICC T20 World cup: Sam Curran rises as a new hero

ICC T20 World Champions
ICC T20 World Champions

On 13 November, the world of cricket was given a new champion of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. As England was victorious over Pakistan by five wickets. The team made history and lifted the trophy for the second time.

Highlights of the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup Final

Ben Stokes and Sam Curran emerged as victory leaders and paved the way for victory with a crucial five-wicket win over Pakistan at The Melbourne Cricket ground on Sunday in the ICC men’s T20 World cup final. The game, from the beginning, kept the fan’s pulse fast and feet steady.

Finals also had some scares of rain

The match began at 1:30 IST. England Won the toss, used the same strategy they used in the Semi-Finals against India, and decided to bowl first. They put heavy pressure on Pakistan and always had the attacking mindset.

First Innings Pakistan ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Sam Curran outbowled the opening batsman Mohammad Rizwan in the 5th over. And it would be no mistake to say that this was a breakthrough for England.The ball was swinging throughout the game. As a result, the batsmen were not able to give their best. And thus, they needed to set a higher target.

After Rizwan, Mohammad Haris was sent to the pavilion in the 8th over, which was the immediate impact from Aadil Rashid. Babar Azam was out-caught in the 12th over. After Babar, Iftikhar Ahmed was immediately sent back to the pavilion in the 13th over.

There has always been questions on slow start from Pak Openers in each of their games

Iftikhar Ahmed was sent back for zero in just one over, by Stokes. Masood was at the pitch for a little longer than other players. But eventually, he was also sent to the pavilion by highly talented Sam Curran, and the pressure was on the team.

And the result was 137-8, and thus, there was heavy pressure on the Pakistani bowlers as the target was not so hard to chase for the opposite team.

First Innings England ICC Men’s Twenty 20 World Cup

Hales and Butler are on the pitch, ready to chase the score with the intention of finishing the match quickly. Shaheen Afridi got the breakthrough when he outbowled Hales in the first over. The pressure was on both sides, but the English batsmen maintained a cool head and kept up with the boundaries.

The score was 32, and Haris Rauf bowled and got one more breakthrough for team Pakistan when Rizwan out-caught Philip Salt. In the 6th over, one more wicket by Haris Rauf, and this time it was Jos Buttler.

Pakistani bowlers and fielders were putting a lot of pressure on English batsmen. Shadab Khan bowled Harry brook, and he was out-caught by Shaheen Afridi, But while catching the ball, Afridi injured his ankle.

Sam Curran was awarded the ICC Player of the Match and Player of the Tournament Award

It was a setback for Pakistani team. Ben Stokes was in excellent form and completed his half-century, while Moeen Ali was outbowled by Mohammed Wasim Jr. in the 19th over. This was second occasion where Ben Stokes played his heart out to win his nation their 2nd T20 World Cup.

Finally, Stokes hits the winning shot and takes a single with the celebration of winning. It was the first time in fifty years that England was able to accomplish a win against Pakistan In men’s Twenty20 Finals. The Player of the match was given to Sam Curran for his world-class bowling who bagged three wickets for just 12 runs.

For such more Insightful news, Do Follow PrTechNews