T20 World Cup: What is Super Over? When was it implemented for the first time, which team bats first? Understand

New Delhi. June 6, 2024 was a very special day for the host American cricket team. On this day, it created history in the T20 World Cup by defeating Pakistan. The associate team performed incredibly in the 11th match of the T20 World Cup and defeated Pakistan in the Super Over. In the stipulated 20 overs, both the teams scored the same 159 runs. After this, the result of the match came in the Super Over. But what is this Super Over? People are curious to know about it. The Americans were also eager to know what this is. This question is in everyone’s mind. But don’t worry, let’s take a detailed look at the Super Over rule and understand why and when it is applicable in cricket.

In the history of T20 World Cup, Super Overs have been played 4 times so far. In the T20 World Cup being played in America and Windies, 2 Super Overs have been played so far. It was first played between Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the 2012 T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka won then, while in the same year Windies also defeated New Zealand in the Super Over, while in this World Cup Namibia defeated Oman and USA defeated Pakistan.

  • What is a Super Over?

    When the match is tied, a super over is used. This rule came in 2008. Before this, the ball out method rule was implemented. India defeated Pakistan in a ball out in the first T20 World Cup held in 2007. When the score is equal, the super over rule is applied. Under this, two teams choose three batsmen and one bowler to bowl 6 valid balls. At the end of two overs, the team scoring the most runs is declared the winner. All the runs scored by the batsman and all the wickets taken by the bowler in the super over are not counted in their career statistics.

  • Which team bats first in the super over?

  • The team which bats second in the original match comes to bat first in the super over.

  • How many wickets can a bowler take in a super over?

  • A bowler can take a maximum of 2 wickets in a super over.

  • What if the super over also ends in a tie?

  • As per ICC rules, if the Super Over is tied, the next Super Overs will be played for a reasonable amount of time until a winner is determined.

    FIRST PUBLISHED : June 7, 2024, 21:10 IST

    Related articles